28.12.2016 06:16

Team Canada won the Spengler Cup classic against HC Davos 4-3 on Tuesday night. The Canadians scored twice on the power play and once short-handed.

HCD and Team Canada offered the sell-out crowd of 6300 at Vaillant Arena – amongst them Guy Parmelin, the Swiss Minister of Sport – a fast-paced, exciting offensive display. Better efficiency on the finish and two – from Davos’ point of view – unlucky situations leading to goals made the difference. The Canadians took a 2-1 lead short-handed (!) after a failed line change by the home team. Cory Emmerton took advantage of the breakaway. The team from overseas then took the lead again when Jacob Micflickier netted the 3-2 on the power play, after HCD defensemen Forster received a minor for lifting the puck over the glass in his own defensive zone. The visitors also showed their efficiency on the power play when Andrew Ebbett left the keeper no chance on a redirected shot by Chay Genoway. Per Ledin, on loan from Lausanne, scored the 1-0 and 4-3 for Davos. HCD defenseman Daniel Rahimi had temporarily tied the game at 2-2 with a long-range shot.

Despite the 4-3 victory, the Canadians cannot win the group due to their lopsided 7-4 loss versus Dynamo Minsk the night before. HC Davos and Dynamo Minsk will face off with first place on the line on Wednesday night.

Davos – Team Canada 3:4 (1:1, 0:1, 2:2)

Attendance 6300 – REF. Leggo/Wehrli, Borga/Kovacs.

Scoring: 12. Ledin 1:0. 17. Raymond (Chay Genoway, Jeffrey) 1:1. 28. Emmerton (Sheppard/Penalty Campbell!) 1:2. 46. Rahimi (Ruutu, Egli) 2:2. 47. Micflikier (Gormley/Penalty Forster) 2:3. 53. Ebbett (Chay Genoway, Raymond/Penalty Ambühl) 2:4. 58. Ledin (Marc Wieser, Schneeberger) 3:4.

Penalties: 10 minors against Davos, 6 minors against Team Canada.

Davos: Senn; Du Bois, Kindschi; Heldner, Forster; Schneeberger, Paschoud; Rahimi, Forrer; Sciaroni, Walser, Ambühl; Marc Wieser, Ledin, Shore; Simion, Hall, Dino Wieser; Egli, Kousal, Ruutu.

Team Canada: Fucale; Noreau, Gormley; Parlett, Morrisonn; Heshka, Chay Genoway; Flood; Micflikier, Pouliot, DiDomenico; Ebbett, McIntyre, Raymond; Pare, Jeffrey, Spaling; Emmerton, Sheppard, Campbell; Colby Genoway.

Notes: Davos without Lindgren (ill), Kessler, Lindgren, Corvi, Jung, Jäger (healthy scratches), Van Pottelberghe, Eggenberger, Portmann (U20 World Championships). 13. Noreau hits post. 53. Timeout Davos, from 59:13 empty net.