31.12.2015 14:15

Team Canada edges HC Lugano 4-3 in a thrilling final.

(Foto: EQ Images/Gian Ehrenzeller)

The Spengler Cup once again delivered on its promise of being an ice hockey spectacle the week before New Year. Each of the 11 games at the 89th edition of the traditional tournament in 2015 was sold out. According to the departing president of the organizing committee Fredi Pargätz, the final was played between the two teams that wanted it the most.

Team Canada played its way to the final with a perfect record of three wins. The Canadians defeated Avtomobilist Yekaterinburg and eliminated host HC Davos with two head-to-head victories.

HC Lugano was eyeing the first title at its second Spengler Cup (the Ticinesi lost the Final in 1991). After opening the tournament with a win over Adler Mannheim, the team lost against Jokerit Helsinki and beat Avtomobilist Yekaterinburg on its way to the final.

Team Canada back to the top

Gregory Hofmann put the Swiss ahead with a wrap-around, but the Canadians replied in the first period as Keaton Ellerby scored on a shot from the blue line.

In the second period it was Lugano that looked to decide the game – Team Canada did.

Derek Roy (24.) and Tom Pyatt (25.) raised the score to 3-1. Guy Boucher’s team then put up a defensive battle. The Ticinesi hit the post four times in the second 20 minutes of play, once they scored. On the power play Alessandro Chiesa (33./pp) shortened the lead.

HC Lugano tied up the game on an Alessio Bertaggia (46.) goal, but eventually had to accept defeat in a thrilling final. Matt D’Agostini (49.) secured the 4-3 win for Team Canada.

After winning the Spengler Cup in 2012, Team Canada missed the final twice before returning the winning ways. The representative team has won the traditional tournament a total of 13 times.