29.12.2016 08:45

At the 90th Spengler Cup HC Davos defeated Dynamo Minsk 5-4 in an particularly spectacular game. Based on the goal differential the Belarusians still secured first place in the group ahead of the hosts and Team Canada, who both finished with the same point total.



The sell-out crowd of 6300 at Vaillant Arena witnessed a wild game. In the middle period Davos was, in theory, temporarily in first place of the group, when they took a 4-1 lead. The “Bündner” resolutely took command of the game after an unlucky start with a short-handed goal by Minsk’s Canadian Rob Klinkhammer. Still in the first period Adam Hall tied it up on the power play. Noah Schneeberger used the next man advantage for a Davos lead. Then it was Perttu Lindgren, who finished a textbook combination and Drew Shore marked the 4-1. The Belarusians reacted promptly as Danila Karaban and Alexander Pavlovitsh cut the deficit after some carelessness on Davos’ defence. In the middle period no fewer than 5 goals were scored within nine minutes and ten seconds. When Enzo Corvi netted the 5-3, Davos’ first place hopes sprung again. But Pavlovitsh put in his veto by bringing Minsk within a goal on the power play.

While Minsk has directly qualified for the semifinals on Friday, Davos will play on Thursday evening at 8.15pm in the quarterfinal versus Avtomobilist Yekaterinburg. In the first quarterfinal, Team Canada will face HC Mountfield at 3pm.

Dynamo Minsk – Davos 4:5 (1:1, 2:3, 1:1)

Attendance: 6300 (sold out). – REF Leggo/Vinnerborg, Kaderli/Wüst.

Scoring: 5. Klinkhammer (Penalty Chenkel!) 1:0. 17. Hall (Shore, Ruutu/Penalty Chenkel) 1:1. 22. (21:28) Marc Wieser (Schneeberger, Corvi) 1:2. 23. (22:17) Lindgren (Ruutu, Marc Wieser) 1:3. 30. (29:31) Shore (Ledin, Schneeberger/Penalty Gotovets) 1:4. 30. (29:46) Karaban 2:4. 31. (30:38) Pavlovitsh (Palushaj, Klinkhammer) 3:4. 42. Corvi 3:5. 48. Pavlovitsh (Klinkhammer/Penalty Ambühl) 4:5.

Penalties: 6 minors each

Dynamo Minsk: Lalande; Korobov, Lisovez; Graborenko, Gotovets; Shinkevitsh, Chenkel; Karaban, Ellison, Klinkhammer; Stas, Stepanov, Pavlovitsh; Komarov, Kovyrshin, Materuchin; Lopatshuk, Volkov, Kitarov; Drosd, Palushaj.

Davos: Nyffeler; Jung, Kindschi; Heldner, Forster; Schneeberger, Paschoud; Rahimi, Forrer; Marc Wieser, Lindgren, Ruutu; Shore, Hall, Ledin; Sciaroni, Corvi, Dino Wieser; Ambühl, Kousal, Kessler.

Notes: Davos without Egli, Rampazzo, Jörg, Axelsson, Aeschlimann (injured), Van Pottelberghe, Eggenberger, Portmann (U20 World Championships), Walser, Simion, Du Bois, Jäger (healthy scratches), Dinamo Minsk without Pettersson (healthy scratch). 37. Timeout Dynamo Minsk. 39. Shore hits crossbar. 49. Kovyrshin hits post